Welcome to Fayette County, Iowa



Experience The Convenience - Pay Online!

A Payment Drop Box is Available 24 Hours a Day Located by the East Door of the Courthouse

Pay Property Taxes Online

Pay Your Vehicle Tag Online

Discover, MasterCard, Visa are accepted for online payments.  E-checks are another method of online payment where payment is transferred directly from your bank account.  Be advised that e-checks returned due to insufficient funds will be assessed an additional $30.00 fee.



The 2020/2021 Property Tax Statements were mailed on July 31.  The first installment is due September 30, with the second installment due by March 31, 2021.

These taxes are based on the January 1, 2019 assessed value and cover the time period of July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020.

The Courthouse is open to the public.  The treasurer's office is open to walk in traffic, but is limiting the number of customers within the office.  Some customers may need to wait in the hallway for a while before entering the office.





Motor Vehicle

As of January 1, 2020 a BILL_OF SALE is required for all vehicle transfers including trailers.  Previously, a Bill of Sale was only required for vehicles purchased out of state or from a licensed dealer.  All private sales are now required to have a BILL_OF_SALE

 West Union Only:

    • Monday through Friday
    • Hours:  8:00 to 4:00
    • Drop Box is available by the East Door of the Courthouse
    • Telephone: (563) 422-3798
    • Fax: (563) 422-3855
    • E-mail:  treasurer@co.fayette.ia.us

Click Here to Renew Your Vehicle Registration Online 
Not all vehicles qualify for online payment.  The renewal notice that was mailed contains a PIN that is required to complete the online payment.


Drivers License 

Including ID Cards and Handicap Parking Permits

  • West Union - Four days per week
      • Monday - Wednesday - Thursday - Friday
      • Hours:  8:00 to 3:30
      • Written Tests - Due to the number of people needing to test, time may not allow everyone to test on any given day
      • Drive Tests - By Appointment Only
      • Service is closed on Tuesdays
      • Telephone: (563) 422-3798
      • Fax: (563) 422-3855
      • E-mail:  treasurer@co.fayette.ia.us

    Oelwein - (located at 6 South Frederick Ave)

      • Tuesday only
      • Hours:  9:00 to 3:00
      • Written tests - Due to the number of people needing to test, time may not allow everyone to test on any given Tuesday.
      • Drive Tests - By Appointment Only (CDL drive tests are not available in Oelwein)
      • Telephone: (319) 283-4080
      • Fax: (319) 283-4080
      • E-mail:  treasurer@co.fayette.ia.us


     Property Tax

     West Union Only:

      • Monday through Friday
      • Hours:  8:00 to 4:00
      • Drop Box Available 24 hours a Day
      • Telephone: (563) 422-3787
      • Fax: (563) 422-3855
      • E-Mail:  treasurer@co.fayette.ia.us

    To sign up for Homestead, Military, or Family Farm property tax credits, please contact the Assessor’s Office.


    Additional information regarding taxes and property values can be found here


Contact Information

    • Property Tax: 563-422-3787
    • Motor Vehicle: 563-422-3798
    • Driver License (West Union): 563-422-3798
    • Driver License (Oelwein - Tuesday Only): 319-283-4080
    • Fax: 563-422-3855
    • Email: treasurer@co.fayette.ia.us
    • Fayette County Website: www.fayettecountyiowa.org

 Holiday Closings

New Year's Day - January 1, 2020
Presidents Day - Monday, February 17, 2020

Memorial Day - Monday, May 25, 2020
Independence Day - Thursday, July 4, 2020
Labor Day - Monday, September 7, 2020
Veterans’ Day - Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Thanksgiving -  Thursday & Friday, November 26 & 27, 2020
Christmas - Thursday & Friday, December 24 & 25, 2020

Our Location


Fayette County Treasurer’s Office
114 N Vine St
PO Box 273
West Union, IA  52175

The Treasurer’s Office is located on the second floor of the courthouse, to the left from the stairs or to the right from the elevator.

A drop box is located by the East door of the courthouse and is available 24 hours a day.




Kyle Jacobsen, Treasurer

Population - 20,880

Did you know Fayette County...


Was organized in 1850



Covers approximately 720 square miles or 460,800 acres



Chose West Union as the county seat in 1851



Built the first courthouse in 1857 which was destroyed by fire in 1872



Built the second courthouse in 1874 which was destroyed by fire in 1922



Built the current courthouse in 1924 at a cost of approximately $300,000.00


Maintains over 1,130 miles of roads including more than 217 miles of paved roads



Maintains over 320 bridges with a span of 20 feet or more



Processes over 7,100 motor vehicle titles each year








2019 Summary of
Vehicle Registrations

Cars & SUVs 15,545
Trucks 8,497
Semi Tractors 317
Motorcycles 1,392
Mopeds 162


Motorhomes 148
Campers 926
Private Buses 23
Autocycles 2
Total Vehicles 33,703