Welcome to Clayton County, Iowa. Enjoy online payment options for your convenience!

Clayton County Treasurer


Linda Zuercher
Took Office 11/13/2012

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★





COVID-19 Update: We encourage customers to continue to pay motor vehicle renewals and property taxes online, by mail or at our drop box.

Motor Vehicle & Property Tax - A limited number of appointments will be available for transferring ownership of vehicles if it cannot be completed by other means. Please call 563-245-1807 for assistance.

Driver’s License - We will start taking calls for appointments on May 20th. Appointments will be required! Call 563-245-3200 

Visitor Requirements - Appointments are required, one visitor per household, and screening of visitors will happen at the door. Visitors will have their temperature taken at the door following the screening questions. The public is required to wear a properly fitting mask that covers their mouth and nose to their appointment.

Pay Online:

Discover, Mastercard, Visa and e-Check are accepted for Internet Transactions. When paying property taxes please search by name OR parcel number. A $20.00 returned check fee will be assessed on any payments returned due to insufficient funds.

Scheduled and Recurring Property Tax Payments:

We are pleased to offer one-time scheduled tax payments and recurring monthly property tax payments through this website.  Payments can be scheduled using either a credit card or e-check.  For additional information, call (563) 245-1807. 

Tax Sale Information:

The 2019 Clayton County Tax Sale was held on Monday, June 17th, 2019.  Adjourned Tax Sales are held any business day following the annual Tax Sale in which there are bidders present and there are parcels available for sale. 

Office Hours:

Property Tax & Motor Vehicle Services 
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Driver's License Services
License Issuance: Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Written Tests: Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Drive Tests: Appointments preferred - Call (563) 245-3200 to schedule

Payment Methods Accepted in the Clayton County Treasurer's Office:

  • Cash (U.S. Currency Only)
  • Credit Cards (Service delivery fee applies)
  • Debit Cards (Service delivery fee applies)
  • Checks, Money Orders or Cashier's Checks possessing an American Bank Association (ABA) routing number

Holiday Closings:

Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Holiday
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Holiday
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Holiday
Monday, February 17, 2020 President’s Day
Monday, May 25, 2020 Memorial Day
Friday, July 3, 2020 Independence Day
Monday, September 7, 2020 Labor Day
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 Veteran’s Day
Thursday, November 26, 2020 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 27, 2020 Day After Thanksgiving
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Holiday
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Holiday
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Holiday

Contact Information:

  • Property Tax..............(563)-245-1807
  • Motor Vehicle............(563)-245-1807
  • Driver’s License..........(563)-245-3200 -For assistance determining the documents you will need to bring with you, please click here.
  • Fax.............................(563) 245-1808
  • Email..........................
  • County Website...........https://www.claytoncountyia.gov/
  • Office Staff
    • County Treasurer – Linda Zuercher
      Motor Vehicle Deputy – Cathy White
      Property Tax Deputy – Audrey Tschirgi
      Universal Deputy – Josie Fettkether
      Driver's License Deputy – Larita Hamlett
      Driver's License Deputy – Sandy Ashline

Our Locations:

Property Tax & Motor Vehicle Services
Clayton County Courthouse
111 High St. NE, Suite 101
Elkader, IA 52043

Driver's License Services
County Office Building
600 Gunder Road NE, Suite #4
Elkader, IA 52043